Onchan School

"Learning is a journey, to be taken together, one step at a time."

Alongside the home learning activities that our teachers are providing, here you can find a collated list of websites that may be useful to help you with home learning.

These are suggestions that you may wish to have a look at with your children. It is important to remember that websites often have unwanted adverts, so please keep an eye on your children whilst using these websites. You may also be able to set up child friendly internet on your tablet/computer through your browser settings.


General


Twinkl - https://www.twinkl.co.uk

You do need to sign up for this but it is currently free for parents. Use the code: UKTWINKLHELPS. This website provides a range of activities and videos to help children with their learning.


Classroom Secrets - https://classroomsecrets.co.uk/free-home-learning-packs/

A range of English and Maths activities.


BBC - https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/

Lots of educational games – suitable for all


PlanBee - https://www.planbee.com/free-teaching-resources/free-home-learning-packs

Free home learning packs available.


Oxford Owl - https://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/

Lots of educational games.


Scholastic - https://classroommagazines.scholastic.com/support/learnathome.html

Day-by-day projects to keep kids reading, thinking, and growing.


Teacher's Pet - https://www.Tpet.co.uk

Free home learning packs available.


DK Find out - https://www.dkfindout.com/uk/

Lots of activities and quizzes


Imagination Tree -https://theimaginationtree.com/

Creative art and craft activities for younger children


Duolingo - https://www.duolingo.com/

Learn a new language for free!


World Geography Games - https://world-geography-games.com/world.html

Games to help with geography learning.


Virtual Museum Tours - https://www.travelandleisure.com/attractions/museums-galleries/museums-with-virtual-tours

This link takes you to the Travel & Leisure website which provides links for 12 different virtual tours of museums and galleries from around the globe.


Maths


White Rose Maths - https://whiterosemaths.com/homelearning/

Home learning lessons for all year groups.


Quick fire Maths - https://www.hitthebutton.co.uk

Suitable for all years and ages


Transum - https://www.transum.org

Problem Solving Maths activities


TT Rockstars - https://ttrockstars.com

KS2 specific website. All KS2 children have logins.


Primary 5-a-day - https://corbettmathsprimary.com/5-a-day/

KS2 specific website. KS2 Maths problems for everyday


Sum Dog - https://pages.sumdog.com/

Lots of interactive games to consolidate and embed learning.


Numberstacks - https://www.numberstacks.co.uk/free-trial/

You can sign up for a 28 day free trial.


NRICH - https://nrich.maths.org/14559

A collection of activities and games for different ages ranges which can be done at home.


BEAM - https://www.stem.org.uk/elibrary/collection/3310

A huge collection of maths resources, games and activities that can help your child consolidate their maths skills.


English


Phonics Play - https://www.phonicsplay.co.uk

Phonics games for FS and KS1. Username: March20 Password: home


Monster Phonics - https://monsterphonics.com/

Phonics for FS and KS1. You can sign up for a 14 day free trial.


Reading Eggs - https://readingeggs.co.uk

Register for free and get a free 14 day trial. Suitable for all ages.


The Literacy Company - http://www.theliteracycompany.co.uk/free-resources/

Free resource packs available.


Audible Stories - https://stories.audible.com/start-listen

Here you can listen to free audiobooks.


Spelling Shed - https://spellingshed.com

KS2 currently have logins. For everyone else there is a free 14 day trial.


The following two websites can be used to provide a writing stimulus.

Once Upon a Picture - https://www.onceuponapicture.co.uk

Pobble365 - http://pobble365.com


Nessy - https://www.nessy.com/uk/product/virtual-school-parent-pack/

They have put together a special 2-month pack for students age 5-12 at a highly discounted rate, to provide families with the tools necessary to home educate during this time.

Their Virtual School Parent Pack has 8 weeks of lessons in reading, writing, spelling, vocabulary, grammar, phonics and keyboarding, plus 1200 printable worksheets. Everything you need to provide at-home lessons.

This bundle of educational tools is usually £30 + VAT, we have reduced this pack to £24 +VAT. This is 40% off the original prices of these teaching programs.


Radio Blogging - https://radioblogging.net/

This is a radio programme/podcast that you can listen to online and is great for KS2 Literacy.


Langauge


Speech and Language - https://speechandlanguage.info/parents

To support children's speech, language and communication needs, we have fast tracked the launch of our new Parent Portal to help with this. The site will provide parents (and staff) with FREE speech and language advice, resources and activities. We are very happy for you to add the link to this site to your websites and of course to direct parents and school staff to the site so they can be reassured that the support for their children, who have SLCN, doesn't have to stop once their school closes.


The Communication Trust - https://www.thecommunicationtrust.org.uk/resources/resources/resources-for-parents/

Lots of resources available for developing language skills.


The Chatter Pack - https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0088/6797/1123/files/ChatterPack_-_Building_vocabulary.pdf?242

This pdf is intended to be used as a resource to help with building vocabulary. It provides ideas, resources and tips for helping children to develop their language skills.



Science

Science Fun at Home - https://pstt.org.uk/resources/curriculum-materials/Science-Fun-at-Home

Lots of activities for children to have fun at home while exploring scientific concepts.

Climate Kids - https://climatekids.nasa.gov/

Covers a wide range of topics including weather, climate, atmosphere, water, energy, plants and animals.

Mystery Science - https://mysteryscience.com/

Free science lessons.

SciShow Kids - https://www.youtube.com/user/scishowkids/about

A YouTube channel for children exploring lots of curious topics that have us asking 'why?'

Starters for STEM

Starters for STEM are 10 activities that parents can use at home to help children develop their science, technology, engineering and maths skills. Theses activities are easy to resource and provide children with the stimulus to talk about the world around them. If you see a link you can explore how to extend these activities, you will need to sign up, for free, to access these materials. Don’t forget to share your work on social media

Starters for STEM 1 Starters for STEM 2 Starters for STEM 3

Do try this at home - https://www.stem.org.uk/resources/elibrary/resource/25416/do-try-home

This set of twelve colourful postcards provides hands on activities which link to the topics of electricity, sound, forces and changes of state. A login in needed in order to gain access to these resources but registration is free :)

ASE - https://www.ase.org.uk/ase-coronavirus-hub

Resources for primary science.


ICT


Scratch Online - https://scratch.mit.edu

Coding activities and challenges for all year groups


Blockly Games - https://blockly.games/

Learn computer programming skills for free


Tinker Cad - https://www.tinkercad.com/

Digital 3D design, electronics and coding.


Hour of Code - https://hourofcode.com/uk/learn

Lots of one hour hands-on tutorials for children of all ages.


Kind Kingdom - https://beinternetawesome.withgoogle.com/en_us/interland/kind-kingdom

An adventure packed online game that puts digital literacy into hands-on practice.


Childnet - https://www.childnet.com/resources

A range of online safety resources.


PE

Joe Wicks (The Body Coach) - https://www.thebodycoach.com/

PE with Joe Wicks


Outdoor Learning


Woodland Trust: Nature Detectives - https://www.woodlandtrust.org.uk/blog/2020/03/nature-detectives/

Lots of activities and resources that can be used for Outdoor learning in your garden. Please make sure you adhere to any social distancing/self-isolation restrictions issued by the Isle of Man Government during this time.



You are here:
Home Learning Useful Websites